Silver Medal Award Winners

The Alabama Academy of Radiology is very pleased to announce the Silver Medal Award winners for 2020. The Silver Medal Award is made of reclaimed silver from old radiographs. The Silver Medal recognizes significant achievement in the field of radiology and is the highest honor the AAR bestows.

Therese Weber, M.D.

Dr. Therese Weber has served the AAR for many years holding multiple leadership roles including President. She is the first winner of the Dr. Steven Teplick award for her dedication to physician education. Dr. Weber coordinated numerous AAR meetings ensuring excellent speakers and CME. She recently retired from UAB as a Professor of Radiology and has contributed to the education of numerous radiologists. The AAR thanks Dr. Weber for her many years of service to the AAR and the profession of Radiology. 

LinColn Berland, M.D.

Dr. Lincoln Berland is Professor Emeritus of Abdominal Imaging at UAB. Dr. Berland has had a long career in resident education dating back to the 1980s. He has authored or coauthored over 100 articles and numerous book chapters. His early work in CT research was ground breaking. Today, he is best known for 6 white papers on the management of incidental findings. These articles have helped define the practice of radiologists across the US. He is the current Chair of the Body Imaging Commission of the ACR. The ACR is very thankful for a career dedicated to patient care and making us all better radiologists.